My thoughts on Winterfell (spoilers ahead)

I have to say I was really impressed by last night’s episode.  I know it was a lot of table setting but to me, it was necessary to do that.  It also brought about a number of reunions I couldn’t wait to see.

My favorite was the Bran and Jaime reunion, which harkened back to the premiere episode back in season 1.  It’s easy to forget who hasn’t interacted with the sheer number of characters and storylines over 8 seasons.  I can’t remember if Bran ever told anyone who pushed him out of the window, or not.  The question is whether the game of thrones would have ever started if not for that event.

I also loved the changes to the opening credits.  One has to think that the crypt at Winterfell will play an important role (hint hint Ned Stark as a wight) since D2 took such pains to show it in the opening.

The opening scene was also a callback to the premiere 8 years ago, with a plethora of characters converging on Winterfell, while Arya watches from the crowd.  I have a nagging feeling that these callbacks are relevant to what will ultimately happen this season but I can’t put my finger on it yet.

The Jon/Sam reveal was well done.  The question is whether Jon and/or Sam will tell anyone else, and if so, how.  One of my fellow readers’ co-watcher thinks that Jon will end up killing Daenerys, which is a distinct possibility.  It could be because she’s drunk with power, or possibly due to the forbidden (?) relationship.

I’m happy to say that my death pool is still intact, primarily because none of the characters on it died.  I doubt that will hold for next week.

I thought that the King’s Landing scenes were boring and unnecessary, but I suppose D2 had to throw them in there.  Perhaps they’ll be important next week?

My thoughts on Winterfell (spoilers ahead)

Leave a comment