NYC eating…

I was lucky enough to be back in NYC recently for a day of eating.  FE and I hadn’t been to Lupa for a while, mostly because we were spending our time at newer places, i.e. ABC Kitchen, Upland.  There’s only so much eating one can do in a day!

Lupa did not disappoint.  We’ve been eating there for about 8 years, and the food and service are consistently great.  We shared the veal saltimbocca, which was delectable as usual.  The irony of this is that I don’t really like veal, nor do I like prosciutto.  Go figure.

I had the cacio e pepe pasta, and FE had the bucatini l’amatriciana.  Both were stellar.  Lupa is a great place for a leisurely weekday lunch, right by the open front on a nice day. We rolled out for a long walk afterwards.

It was back to our favorite restaurant of all time (really), Union Square Cafe.  We were lucky enough to snag a dinner reservation in the dining room on a weekend night.  We started with the complimentary whole wheat sourdough bread with homemade butter and olives, as well as the polenta.  I was skeptical about ordering the polenta because it seems like such an ordinary item to order in a restaurant.  However, this polenta may have been the best thing I ate on this particular day.  It was creamy, and it was obvious that the pesto and roasted tomatoes on top were made with a lot of care.  I could have eaten an entire meal of this.

FE had the burger, which tasted great.  Even the pickles were tasty.  I had the chitarra pasta, which was made with heirloom tomatoes, ricotta, and calabrian chiles.  The flavor of this dish was indescribable, but I’ll give it a try – crunchy, delicate, and subtle, all at the same time.  I can’t see myself ordering anything else next time we return.

Even though I was full, I had to order the black forest tart for dessert.  It didn’t disappoint.  I’ll admit that their chocolate pecan tart is still my favorite, but this was a good summer substitute.  I ordered it sans caramel and with mint chocolate chip ice cream, instead of the fior de latte.

I’m already planning our return.

 

NYC eating…

Leave a Reply

