NYC eating

We made our second visit to the revamped Union Square Cafe in NYC recently.  I’ve now confirmed that it is my favorite restaurant of all time.  The best way to describe it is simple, comfortable elegance.  Even though it’s an expensive, fine dining establishment, I always feel welcome and everyone who works there is dedicated to ensuring that the patrons have a great time.

We were lucky enough to snag a table on the second floor this time.  We started out sharing the beef carpaccio appetizer.  It was served with crostini, and it was delicious.  Sourdough bread was complimentary (also delicious).

FE had the frascatelli, which had guanciale, peas, and black pepper cream.  He enjoyed it.  I had the ricotta gnocchi.  Gnocchi can be tough to get at a restaurant, but here it’s always on point.  This time was no exception.  The gnocchi were light and fluffy, and the sauce was the perfect amount.  Ironically, it was topped with pecorino cheese, which I usually hate, but on this it works.

The finale was of course, dessert.  I can’t go to this restaurant and not get dessert.  This was my last dessert before I embarked on my #nodessert challenge (I’m now on day 15 of 30).  FE had the chocolate espresso cake, and I had the chocolate pecan tart.  Both desserts were phenomenal!  The tart had the edge for me, because of the simplicity of the chocolate mousse paired with the crunch of the crust and pecans.

I can’t wait to return, but not until I finish day 30!

NYC eating

Leave a Reply

