Marcus Lemonis’ “The Partner”

Marcus Lemonis of “The Profit” has a new series on CNBC called “The Partner”.  I really want to love this show but two episodes in, the jury’s still out for me.  The concept is good – Marcus is looking for someone to be his business partner and to help him shoulder the load of work he’s taken on via “The Profit”.

I love Marcus Lemonis’ “The Profit” and the concepts of “people, process, product” that he promotes.  It’s clear that he takes this seriously and it carries over into “The Partner”.

On paper, the candidate’s credentials were very impressive.  However, their credentials aren’t necessarily translating to their actions.  I’m sure this is in part due to the presence of the cameras, as well as the enormous time crunch.

I was particularly disappointed in Chuck Brewer, who was “fired” this week.  I predicted that he and Peilin Pratt were the candidates to beat during the first episode.  However, he displayed no personality and his personal branding campaign was weak.  It was definitely the right decision to fire him this week.

Erin Cobb is a great candidate but something about his personality rubs me the wrong way.  Perhaps he’s a bit overconfident?  I really like Peilin and I think she’ll be in the final two.  I’m also biased in her favor because I love candy (she and her husband have an online candy business)!

I suspect that Marcus will keep the non-profit candidate Julianna Reed for a while because she’s the underdog.  She’s definitely impressed me more as time goes by, but I’m still skeptical that she has the gravitas to be the partner.

I believe this series only has three more episodes so I intend to stick with it.  I’m curious to hear your thoughts on it.

Marcus Lemonis’ “The Partner”

Leave a Reply

