What I’ve been reading…

Sorry for the long hiatus, readers, it’s been a busy few weeks.  I just finished reading two great books I’d like to share with you.

The first was “River of Doubt” by Candice Millard.  Shout out to my co-worker Judith for the recommendation!  The book is about Teddy Roosevelt’s trip in the Amazon down a previously undiscovered river.  Sounds boring, doesn’t it?  Well I couldn’t put it down.  It’s a fascinating story about his decision to go on the trip, the challenges the group faced even getting to the start of the journey, and the starvation, rapids, and threat from Indians while traveling on the river.  As soon as I finished, I requested Ms. Millard’s other books, one of which is on Churchill and the other on James Garfield.

The second was “Hillbilly Elegy” by J.D. Vance.  I waited a long time for this one from the library because it’s hugely popular right now.  Mr. Vance grew up in Kentucky and Ohio and describes in the book the challenges he and his family faced growing up as “hillbillies” in these areas.  He ultimately went to Yale Law School.  It’s an interesting sociological overview of what life was like growing up in this environment.

I should be getting the book on James Garfield from the library today.  I’ll let you know when I’ve finished it.  Happy reading!

What I’ve been reading…

Leave a Reply

