What I’m watching…

I decided to check out a few network premieres this week so I wanted to share my thoughts with you.  Those of you who follow me regularly know I detest network shows because they’re sanitized claptrap, unlike the brave stuff HBO and other cable networks are doing.  There is definitely claptrap but I liked the three shows I watched (so far):

1.Designated Survivor.  I’ll watch pretty much anything with Kiefer Sutherland.  Even when 24 went off the rails in its later seasons, he kept the show watchable.  I was ready to give up on Designated Survivor after the first 40 minutes, but the last few minutes left me wanting more.  I’m not sure I’ll stick with this long-term, but it is due to be dvr’ed this week.  There’s definitely claptrap potential with this show, so I’ll be closely monitoring.  I will say that I can’t stand the actress who plays the first lady.  Also, the show is treading dangerously close to “Homeland” territory with the annoying kids.  B+

2.Lethal Weapon.  Look, the only reason I watched this is because I really like Damon Wayans.  I have to say I was pretty impressed, probably due to low expectations.  The show itself looks pretty, and the two lead actors have a great rapport.  There’s also claptrap potential here, plus the formula of the show may get old quickly.  B+

3.Pitch.  I would have loved this pilot, if the last 60 seconds were omitted.  Claptrap alert, claptrap alert!  If this show was on cable, it wouldn’t include a dead dad to keep our attention.  There was so much to love about this pilot and it definitely has potential.  The lead actress and Mark-Paul Gosselaar are terrific.  A-

4.Gomorrah.  I think we’re towards the end of the first season being aired in the USA on Sundance.  It’s getting really good now.  I believe the last segment will air on Wednesday.  I then have to look for the second season somewhere.  My guess is that Daniele’s brother will team up with Ciro to go after Conte, since he doesn’t know that Ciro was the one responsible for his brother’s death.  I think he believes that Gennaro gave the order, and Ciro simply followed the order and had Daniele carry it out.  We’ll see.

5.Mr. Robot.  I have nothing to say about the season finale except that I have no earthly idea what is going on.  I’ll still continue to watch though.  Sam Esmail is a genius.

DVR alert:  Poldark tonight at 8 on PBS;  Shameless back on Showtime 10/2;  Class Divide on HBO on 10/3

Netflix alert:  Longmire Season 5 – now!

What I’m watching…

Leave a Reply

