What I’ve been eating lately…

My regular readers know that fellow eater and I have been on a mission in the last year to improve our diet and also the quality of what we eat.  I wanted to share with you what we’ve been chomping on lately.

1.Nuts, nuts, and more nuts!  My go to for breakfast is the walnut.  I buy them in bulk at the grocery store and sprinkle a handful on whatever I’m eating for breakfast.  My breakfast staples are Bob’s Quick Cook Oatmeal, Ezekiel 4:9 sprouted grain cereal (the plain version), and Wheatena.  I also add a tablespoon of ground flax seed, also purchased from the grocery store.  Remember to buy your flax whole in small quantities, store it in a sealed, opaque container, and grind right before use.  Otherwise the seeds turn rancid.  I use the NutriBullet as a grinder.  Once ground, store your flax in a sealed container in the refrigerator.  I usually grind a week’s worth at a time on Sunday.

My go to snack nut is the almond.  I read somewhere that the proper serving size is about 23 almonds.  Make sure you buy the unsalted version of any nuts you purchase!

2.Fish, glorious fish.  Lately, FE has been buying a pre-cooked octopus tentacle at the fish counter and then finishing it on the grill for a salad.  He adds a light marinade with lemon – it’s delicious and apparently octopus is really nutritious.  Mix in your favorite salad add-ins and you’re all set.

We’re also dedicated to only eating salmon if it’s wild-caught.  Yes, it’s more expensive but it’s worth it.  You just don’t get the same benefits from farm-raised salmon.

FE has also perfected a pasta with calamari sauce that everyone loves.  It’s a great way to spruce up a plain dish of pasta with some healthy protein.

3.Grilled veggies.  FE grills veggies for the week and stores them in containers in the fridge to be added to salads (see above) and lunches.  This week we have roasted peppers and zucchini.

4.Grains.  FE also makes farro, brown rice, and quinoa for the week to be added to any dish. These can all be purchased in bulk at the grocery store.

We checked out a healthy potential take out option in Philly recently called Snap Kitchen.  We didn’t buy anything yet but I will report back later.  Snap Kitchen has prepared foods in to go containers that you can heat up at home or they have microwaves on site for you to use.  They are committed to healthy sourcing and each package has a clear label of the nutrition facts.

Wishing you a week of happy and healthy eating!

What I’ve been eating lately…

Leave a Reply

