NYC eating…

So I spent a day in NYC recently and I wanted to share some great eats I had there.  Sorry, no Statue of Liberty, no Empire State Building, no Times Square, just eating!

It was a beautiful weekday in NYC when my fellow eater and I embarked on our food odyssey.  We began with lunch at Mario Batali’s Lupa in Greenwich Village. This is an old standby of ours that we’ve been going to for many years, on the recommendation of a co-worker of mine.  I prefer having lunch here over dinner, especially when we can get there by noon and have the first dishes of the day.

I went with my normal spaghetti with pomodoro, which was great.  I only deviated from this order one time in all the years I’ve eaten here and it was a mistake I won’t repeat.  The basil flavor really comes through such a simple dish.  They provide great focaccia bread with olive oil to start.  We split the veal saltimbocca which is always terrific (and I don’t even like veal or prosciutto, or as some say “projut”).  I declined dessert because I was just too full and I wanted to keep my options open for later.

Fellow eater and I each scored a free coffee/tea due to our loyalty cards from our respective favorite establishments and walked to Eataly.  It was a nice walk through Washington Square straight up to the Flatiron.  Eataly wasn’t insanely crowded since it was a weekday. My fellow eater actually shops for groceries at Eataly unlike most of the tourists who come in to gawk and get in our way, so we did our shopping and left.  They have a great selection of imported pasta, rice, and other delicacies that are difficult to find.  The challenge is schlepping it all back to the hotel 1/2 mile away, but we managed.

Then it was time for the crown jewel of the day – our dinner at ABC Kitchen.  For those of you who don’t know, ABC is one of the hottest restaurants in NYC and notoriously difficult to get into, especially on a weekend night.  We planned ahead and were able to get a reservation.  As usual, the meal was phenomenal.  We split the fried calamari appetizer, which came with a marinara sauce and a horseradish-type sauce, both of which were very tasty.  We also split the Akashi cheeseburger (spelling?) and the mushroom and farm egg pizza.  Even though I was full, I ordered the chocolate mint sorbet which was excellent.  Fellow eater was able to convince our server to let him buy only one of the three donuts offered in the trio of donuts since he was full.  Overall, the meal was stellar.  We’re already planning our next visit.

NYC eating…

One thought on “NYC eating…

Leave a Reply

