What’s happening this week…

Lots of developments this week!  First and foremost, I’m still in shock that Prince is dead.  He was and still is an icon and was one of my favorite artists in the 80s.  I enjoyed some of his later stuff but the 80s was it for me.  I was trying to decide which of his songs is my favorite and it’s probably “When Doves Cry”.  It’s the first song that comes to mind when I think of Prince and if I recall correctly, the video was fairly controversial (I’ve never seen it because I didn’t have cable growing up).

Game of Thrones returns tonight!  I’m willing to bet my life savings that Jon Snow will be resurrected this season.  Not sure it will happen tonight though.

Hap and Leonard had a terrific first season.  I love Michael Kenneth Williams from The Wire and also from Boardwalk Empire.  I’m not a huge fan of James Purefoy but he’s good in this buddy show set in East Texas in the early 1980s.  Williams plays a gay Vietnam veteran while Purefoy plays a draft dodger who served time.  Antics ensue, including fighting off the most frightening female I’ve seen on tv in a long time, maybe since Kathy Bates in Misery.  Christina Hendricks is Purefoy’s love interest and she does a pretty good job with the role.  The series is based on a number of books.  Here’s hoping it gets renewed for a second season.

I thought the Better Call Saul finale was terrific.  It was definitely a slow burn but I knew something was up with Chuck as soon as Jimmy left him and he ran to the garage.  The question is will he take the tape to the police or use it to blackmail Jimmy into either giving up the law or changing his name and ceasing contact?  I’m going with one of the latter options.  It’s tricky because it’s unclear how many seasons this show can go, so it’s hard to predict how quickly the story will go to get to Gus Fring and others.  I’m sad I have to wait almost another year to see what happens.

Real Crime Profile is a great podcast.  I can’t remember how I discovered this podcast but it’s fascinating.  It’s hosted by an FBI/prosecutor, a member of Scotland Yard, and a casting director for Criminal Minds.  It really only needs the first two as the casting director serves as the liberal whiner, which I guess unfortunately represents a slice of the American public.  Anyway, the group dissected Making a Murderer in the first set of episodes, and now they’re working on the OJ Simpson case.  They review the tv series and discuss the evidence, whether events were accurately portrayed or embellished, and they reveal information the general public may not know.  There’s a new podcast every week or so, I highly recommend it.

Time to change into my GOT costume and rest up for the show…

What’s happening this week…

Leave a Reply

