Eating healthy in Philly

Sorry I haven’t been around in a while. Quite honestly, I haven’t been inspired to write about anything in particular lately. I’m going off topic today to talk about some great healthy eating places going on in Philly right now.

This week, I had lunch at a newer place called Herban Quality Eats. It’s in University City at 3601 Market Street. I believe it opened a few months ago and I’ve been wanting to check it out. The problem is, it’s not in Center City proper and was about a mile walk each way from work. However, it was a nice day so we decided to go on a hike.

I was surprised at how much that area of University City around Penn and Drexel had changed since I was last there. It was always a cool area but there are so many more options for eating and drinking. There were also at least 5 food trucks parked at the intersection that had long lines. It’s great to see people out enjoying themselves and patronizing local businesses.

Back to Herban. It reminded me of a Chipotle style service where you choose your meal while employees put it together in front of you behind a glass partition. I’m not a vegan but I had to try the “vegan jawns”, which were two patties that looked like large meatballs, made out of chickpeas, lentils, sweet potatoes, and black beans. I had those over Himalayan red rice, with a side of roasted brussels sprouts and kale salad. The cashier also gave us a free sample of the side quinoa with cheese, which was very good. We also got a free Izze drink.

I am a big eater and was really hungry this day and I was full after my meal. Everything was super delicious and you could tell it was healthy. I haven’t investigated the calorie counts, etc. at this place yet but I intend to. However, you can tell that the food is made with care and the ingredients are quality. They have sauces available on the side but my dish didn’t even need the sauce. The vegan jawns were delicious, as was everything else. I’d like to try the salmon next time but I’m not sure I can because the vegan choice was so good.

I do note that Herban is not open on weekends. Hopefully that will change in future.

I’ve also been loving on Sweetgreen about once a week since it opened near work. I was introduced to this place years ago in DC and have loved it ever since. I’ve been bringing it home for dinner as well. My favorite is the rad thai which is shrimp with spicy cashew dressing and a lot of asian flavors. A close second is the spicy sabzi with chicken, which has spicy quinoa, spicy broccoli, sriracha, and carrot chili vinaigrette. The organic lentil and chickpea soup is also delicious.

Hope to post on some tv later (Billions, Shameless, House of Cards).

Eating healthy in Philly

Leave a Reply

