What have I been up to this week?

I’m trying to watch less tv and read more.  Heresy right?  Actually, what I’m trying to do is watch only the tv that’s meaningful to me and not just have the tv on all the time as background noise.  Here are some random thoughts from this past week on random topics, in no particular order:

1.Does Ben Carson have an advance team of any kind?  Forget that, does one need an advance team to know how to properly pronounce one of the most recognized and mentioned political groups in the Middle East?  I watched the youtube clip of that speech and it was truly embarrassing.  I love hummus and it offends me that he would confuse it with Hamas.

2.Found a new healthy cereal to eat, but unfortunately it’s named after a bible verse.  Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Grain Cereal is really healthy, unprocessed, and it doesn’t taste too bad.  Two complaints – it’s super expensive and the box has biblical references all over it.  Just like there should be separation of church and state, I believe in separation of church and my food!

3.I don’t care about Allison on Homeland.  I keep waiting for some big payoff in this storyline but I’m tired and weary.  There are only a few episodes left and I fear the producers are wasting too much time on her.  Let’s focus on what matters – Saul as the mole and keeping Quinn alive and well.

4.TWD mid-season finale was boring.  I can’t help but compare every “mid-season finale” of this show to the second season where Sophia’s little sneaker came out of the barn.  It was obvious that Tovah Feldshuh would die soon and no Daryl, Sasha, and Abraham was lame.  Don’t get me started on Morgan!  Still love Lennie James but it’s getting hard to defend his character to my fellow watcher.

5.Finished reading another terrific book this week – Ghettoside by Jill Leovy.  I saw this book on the NYT 100 best books of the year so I thought I’d check it out.  I couldn’t put it down.  It was similar to The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace (see previous post) and very Wire-esque.  It follows the true story of the murder of the son of a detective in LA, and the author/reporter Jill Leovy chronicles life in the area where the murder occurred.  I was fascinated by the people profiled in the book, particularly Detective John Skaggs, who led the investigation, and Detective Wally Tennelle, the father of the decedent.  Highly recommend!

 

 

 

 

 

 

What have I been up to this week?

Leave a Reply

