What I’ve been reading…

Wow two blog posts in 48 hours – record!  I decided to digress for this post to write about what I’ve been reading this year.  I go back and forth about what I love more – reading or watching tv.  Hard to say.  I average about a book a week, assuming I have something good on hand to read.  I wanted to share some of the good stuff I’ve finished recently, in no particular order:

The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace by Jeff Hobbs – This book was recommended to me by a co-worker.  The title gives away the ending but the journey was well worth the read.  This is probably my second favorite book of the year.  The writing was very good and the story is fantastic, while also heartbreaking.

The author was a roommate of Robert Peace at Yale.  He told the story leading up to their years at Yale together in the third person, but when he got to their Yale years together, he told the story from his own perspective.

In essence, Robert Peace was a black man raised by a single mother in Newark, NJ.  His father was also very involved in his life but was imprisoned when Robert was a young boy.  Robert ended up attending Yale.  I don’t want to give the story away but it’s a must read.

The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown – THIS was my favorite book of 2015.  Another co-worker recommended this book to me after I started Unbroken twice and just couldn’t get into it.  It’s a true story about the University of Washington rowing team and their quest to compete in the Olympics during Hitler’s rise in Germany.  This was a pretty low key book but a powerful story.  I couldn’t put it down.

Still Alice by Lisa Genova – I couldn’t put this book down either.  I read the book before I saw the movie with Julianne Moore and I’m glad I did.  Both were good but the book was better.  It was a story about a Harvard professor who was diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer’s at 50 years old.  I think I was riveted by this book because it was so realistic and the thought of this happening to someone so intelligent and accomplished at such a young age was a page-turner.

The Girl in the Spider’s Web by David Lagercrantz – I was so torn about reading this.  I adored Stieg Larsson’s trilogy and his untimely death brought an abrupt end to the Lisbeth Salander story.  Apparently, this author wanted to pick up the thread of the story despite fierce opposition from some of Larsson’s family members.  I can understand why since Lisbeth is a beloved character whose story can’t be bandied about by just anyone.  I enjoyed this book but it was definitely lacking the Larsson touch.  It felt like the author was just burning off the material and he didn’t bring the true Lisbeth personally to life.  I read a while ago that Larsson’s longtime girlfriend has some manuscripts he was working on at the time of his death that she wants to finish herself, but Larsson’s family has sued to block her from doing so.  What a shame.

I have a list of books I’ve read this year so I hope to write more later.  Thanks for reading and make sure you wear a helmet if you go shopping this weekend!

What I’ve been reading…

Leave a Reply

