What I’ve been watching this summer…

Sorry folks, I’ve been on hiatus for a while enjoying the great outdoors.  Remember when summer was a tv wasteland and we had to wait until September for decent television?  Certainly not the case anymore.  Here’s what I’ve been watching this summer, in no particular order:

1.Mr. Robot – How did I just find out about this show?  As I type I am on episode 8.  I think the finale is coming up this week.  I’ll be honest the lead actor is not my favorite, probably b/c he’s not your typical leading man (um, bug eyes?), but he definitely fits the loner hacker profile.  It’s great to see Christian Slater again and the premise of the show is intriguing.  I was really rooting for Shayla to survive and get rid of Darlene instead but no such luck.  I’m curious to see how the show wraps up the season.  There are a lot of dry funny moments such as when Eliott decides to be “normal” and get a girlfriend, join a gym, and go to Starbucks.  Question, how did Evil Corp. decide to name itself Evil Corp.?  I didn’t catch that part.

2.Poldark – I won’t lie, Ross Poldark with his tricorn hat was the draw for me.  I was thrilled when he and Demelza got together.  I love PBS for their willingness to put on shows that may not get a ton of eyeballs but I think this one did pretty well.

3.Show me a Hero – I”ve only watched the first segment but so far, so good.  It’s very Wire-esque and I’ll watch anything David Simon is involved in (except Treme, which just didn’t do it for me).  I have to say the first segment was a bit slow but I get he has to develop all of the characters separately before bringing them together for the big clash.  The guy who plays the mayor is phenomenal.

4.Hard Knocks – Not a football fan at all, but I love this show.  I played a lot of sports growing up and I think it’s just watching people at the height of athletic competition that’s fun.  JJ Watt could be the finest athletic specimen I’ve ever seen.  I’d definitely pick the Texans defense if I was in a fantasy football league.

5.Ballers – Look at that another football show.  This was my favorite of the summer.  The Rock is such a likable guy and certainly easy on the eyes.  I’ve liked his sidekick in a lot of other stuff I’ve seen him in, and I thought they made a great team comedically.  It was the perfect summer show – not too heavy, beautiful scenery and cars, and the one show that actually had good things happen to the characters.  I especially enjoyed the episode where Spencer made amends with the player he injured and had him throw out the first pitch.  So glad it will be back for another season!

6.True Detective/Rectify – I don’t have anything new to say about TD that hasn’t already been said – disappointing season, Colin Farrell was amazing, and Vince Vaughan was horrific.  I broke up with Rectify early on this season – it just got too boring for me.  I stuck with it in the first two seasons but I just couldn’t take it anymore.  The woman who plays Amantha is cloying and I just couldn’t watch it anymore.

7.Magic Mike XXL – OK not a tv show but I wanted to mention that we saw this on a girls’ night out and it was a lot of fun.  I have to say I thought this one was way more outrageous than the first one (see Channing Tatum, drill) and we laughed hysterically.  I’m embarassed to say I clapped at the end and my friends laughed at me.

I’m gearing up for Homeland, TWD, The Good Wife, and all the fall shows so until next time, thanks for reading!

What I’ve been watching this summer…

One thought on “What I’ve been watching this summer…

Leave a Reply

